The 10 most followed athletes on Instagram

Feb 14, 2014 • By • 40 Views

Of course, the great majority of them haven't been able to resist the charm of Instagram's pictures. But, who are the 10 more followed athletes of this social network?

LeBron james (@kingjames)

With 4.853.590 followers, King James not only is the king of the NBA, he is the king of Instagram too. LeBron doesn't need to buy likes on Instagram ; his more than 5 millions of followers are more than enough. He certainly has got enough merits to have so many followers: 2 times NBA champion, 2 times MVP of the final, 4 times MVP of the season….

Neymar Jr (@neymarjr)

The second person of this list is the recent signing of the FC Barcelona Neymar Jr., who has 3.904.717 followers. The Brazilian striker is a real international phenomenon in the social networks, where he usually uploads pictures and videos of funny moments and of his family.

Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano)

The last winner of the Golden Ball award is the third of this list, with 3.758.016 followers. Knowing the incredible desire to win that characterizes this Portuguese football player, we are sure that "The Major" doesn't like to be the second or the third on anything, even in this list.

Leo Messi (@leomessi)

Two players of the FC Barcelona are on this list of the most followed athletes on Instagram. With 2.345.713 followers, the 4 times winner of the Golden Ball award and the man considered by many as the best football player of the world has to settle for the 4th place.

Floyd Mayweather (@floydmayweather)

Floyd Mayweather is the 5th person of this list with 2.324.430 followers. If he has so many followers is because he is the best boxer "pound for pound" of the last few years and he has remained unbeaten throughout his career. Also, he is the athlete who most money earns at the moment.

Kevin Durant (@easymoneysniper)

"Durantula" wants to win the prized NBA championship ring with the Oklahoma City Thunder. In the meantime, he continues getting amazing numbers and attracting hordes of fans. He has 2.253.659 followers.

Iker Casillas (@ikercasillas)

The Real Madrid keeper is the most followed Spanish athlete of Instagram and the second football player of the Real Madrid FC that is in this ranking. His 1.141.126 fans are mostly from Spain and Latin America.

Usain Bolt (@usainbolt)

Without a doubt, Usain Bolt has been the most incredible phenomenon of the sporting world of the last few years or even of the last few decades. It seems like his records won't be beaten in many, many years. Furthermore, he is a normal and fun guy, as his pictures on Instagram show. His 1.016.288 followers can attest to that.

Mike Tyson (@miketyson)

He is the only retired athlete of this list. He was the youngest champion of all the divisions of the heavyweight class. After that, a bite in Evander Holyfield's ear and a life of excess turned his career around. But now he has been rehabilitated (even if a lot of people still doubt it) and his charisma continues intact. He has 737.646 on Instagram.

Serena Williams (@serenawilliams)

5 Open of Australia, 2 Roland Garros, 5 Wimbledon, 5 US Open and 4 Olympic golds are more than enough to consider her as one of the best tennis players of all times. That's why she is one of the 10 more followed athletes on Instagram, with 478.475 followers.

 

Reader Comments