Michael Baker is a consultant for several large corporations. Early on in his career, he gained a reputation for his ability to execute some of the largest successful advertising campaigns in the industry. Michael Baker leads Ad Tracker Reviews a website dedicated to bold, independent and non-biased ad tracking company reviews.
With so many different locations to advertise including Google Adwords, Facebook, Yahoo Search engine marketing, Bing and all 3rd party PPC companies it is impossible to not succeed.
The trick to PPC advertising is knowing which keyword ads are making money and which keyword ads are loosing money. With that information simply decrease the CPC (cost per click) for all keywords loosing money and possibly increase the CPC for any keyword that is making money for a higher potential. However, tracking all keywords across several different search engines along with any other online advertising such as banner ads, email campaigns, pup-ups, video ads, map ads, mobile ads, wallpaper ads and other methods make the task seemingly impossible.
We will start with how to succeed with quality search engines (Google, Yahoo and recently Bing). High quality search engines by nature will produce a higher conversion rate because the visitor is actually looking for your website! Now to the number one error that causes money loss from advertising on Google, Yahoo or Bing is simply bidding more than it is worth. A simple example is selling an anti fraud book. Lets say that for every purchase of your anti fraud book you receive a profit of $5. Your website will also sell 2 anti fraud books for every 100 visitors that enter your website this means that your website has a 2% conversion rate. Just to note a good conversion rate is anywhere between 1-2% and in some cases it is possible to get as high as 3%. Now lets say you are advertising on Google Adwords and you decide to spend $0.50/click for the keyword fraud. You receive 100 visitors in 1 day and 2 sales as expected. You have spent $50 on advertising and have gained $10 in other words you have lost $40 through your PPC ad. However, here is the trick to achieve success. After knowing the conversion rate for the keyword fraud is 2% the break-even-point on this keyword is $0.10/click, in other words any bids under $0.10 should create a profit for this keyword. This is a very simple example on how to adjust your keywords to ensure that you are making money and not loosing money.
It is important to state that it is very important to try to advertise on every search engine possible. Advertising on any 3rd party PPC search engine if done right will produce a positive a positive return. Although a 3rd tier search engine will never produce conversion rates that are relative to Google or Yahoo they will have a very low CPC (cost per click). In my personal experience I have found that 3rd party PPC search engines do produce a positive ROI if done correctly. In fact some keywords would produce a much higher ROI than Google or Yahoo. A word a warning however is click fraud, because click fraud rates are relatively high when it comes to advertising on a 3rd tier search engine, however if one is using a tool to track click fraud there is nothing to fear.
Last of all banner ads, email campaigns, pup-ups and other forms of advertising are quickly becoming un-popular because they simply do not produce the quality leads that a search engine will. However, there are some instances where you can succeed in other types of advertising and the bottom line is to try them out, track the ROI and determine if you are receiving a good bang for your buck or not.
Back to the initial statement “How it is impossible to loose at PPC advertising.” The answer is simple, use a 3rd party ad tracker why? There are so many different websites to advertise on with hundreds of keywords each and with little to no time at all to personally analyze each keyword phrase and know what changes to make. However there is a solution, a 3rd party ad tracker will track ALL online advertising campaigns in one simple location. An ad tracker will show within moments which online campaigns are making money and which are loosing money. Individual keyword data is also provided to quickly know what changes to make. Correcting all keywords that are loosing money and turning them into keywords that are making money will allow you to succeed.
A few easy ways to improve keywords that are loosing money are:
All three will improve create money making keywords. Revising all keywords should be done on average once a month to ensure success. On occasion a keyword will need to be eliminated because it simply does not produce a profit even if it does produce heavy traffic.
Conclusion: having a quality ad tracker that will also monitor click fraud to ensure all traffic is quality traffic is essential to having success in PPC advertising. Using all of the information provided by an ad tracker to improve online advertising is extremely important to succeed. With a quality ad tracker it is impossible to loose at PPC advertising!
- Related Articles
- Related Q&A




Local Marketing, Local Advertising By AddMelocal
By: Tikee Pittman | 05/11/2009More customers find local businesses via Google, Yahoo, & Bing local searches than any other advertising medium including Yellow Pages. Making sure your potential customers can see you on page 1 of Google Yahoo, & Bing for local searches like; ‘restaurant in San Diego’ for example, can make a huge difference to your sales volume. What’s more we can make this happen for you at a fraction of the cost of advertising on the yellow pages!
A Start-Up Guide For Your Business If You Just Discovered SEO’s
By: Ace | 05/11/2009Good SEO content articles with good keywords will help make your site successful. Remember that a website audience is like no other: they skim, they scan, they often read only the highlights and the headlines.
The Basics of Getting Your Website Indexed
By: Ace | 05/11/2009Many people try to use SEO “tricks” in their desperate fight to get to the top. Still others try to make things too complicated and end up getting nowhere.
SEM Consulting Made Easy
By: Arun Kumar | 05/11/2009If you run a website, you can easily tell its importance in today’s thriving business world. Your website not only promotes your products and services, it also helps you create your own online identity. Be it an ecommerce website or just a site with the purpose of information sharing, in every aspect utmost care is being taken these days by the website developers so as to offer you something special than your competitors.
Keep Your Customers Updated with Instant Tweets Using Twitter
By: Steve Lafavore | 02/11/2009Twitter doesn’t need any introduction. Almost everyone who is using Internet these days have some idea about Twitter. Even though, I’ll provide some first-hand knowledge about this most talked about online service, for those unfortunate people who doesn’t know much about twitter.
Social Media Giants – Essential for Success of Your E-Business
By: Steve Lafavore | 02/11/2009Social Media Optimization and Social Media Marketing is the key to success in online marketing and advertising. Internet marketers are aware with this fact very well that without implementing these social media giants in their promotional campaigns they can’t expect desired success and instant positive results.
The 5 Ways To Grow Your Online Home Based Business Opportunity To Infinity
By: Juhani Tontti | 01/11/2009The secret is to think right. How well your online home based business opportunity does, depends on your thoughts. The strategy, which I present in this article has excellent benefits. When you execute it, it will bring you a long term traffic with low risk and modest amount of work.
Landing Page Development Tips – The 9 Key Factors
By: Chandrashekar.S.R. | 31/10/2009Fundamental to the development of any PPC campaign is developing a focused and persuasive landing page. Why? Because if the users are not able to quickly connect with your product/service offering and more importantly, are not ‘sold’ on the value offering, they will just click out of your site and may never return again.
Ad Tracking and Conversion Stats
By: Michael Baker | 10/08/2009 | PPC AdvertisingWhen undertaken in the right manner, pay per click marketing campaign can deliver excellent results. In some instances, there have been those entrepreneurs who have earned incredible amounts of revenue from successful PPC campaigns. But, this does not mean simply signing up with a PPC service is all one has to do to achieve success. Rather, it is important to stay informed throughout the entire marketing campaign. This is where ad tracking tools comes into play.
The Legal Issues Surrounding Click Fraud
By: Michael Baker | 01/08/2009 | PPC AdvertisingProblems surrounding click fraud have been proliferating since the very beginning of pay per click advertising. Unfortunately, not every person who engages in an entrepreneur is an honest person. That is why they may take liberties with clicking on ads not to learn more about the advertiser and his product. Rather, they are clicking on their own ads with the express purpose of enriching themselves through ill-gotten clicks.
Protecting Your Campaign Against Click Fraud
By: Michael Baker | 27/07/2009 | PPC AdvertisingEveryone advertises online, however few make money why so? Click fraud is one of the factors why people loose money with PPC advertising. Preventing click fraud is highly important to succeed with any online advertising campaign.